Tire question

GTR2EBIKE

10 W
So I have 2 sets of tires that I have had on my e-bike and I wanted to find out which one would be more efficient to run here are the specs
Tire Size Circumference@60psi Revolutions per mile
MTN 26x2.1 81.5 in. or 2068 mm 777.5
Road 26x2.0 79.5 in. or 2018 mm 797.0
Which would get me where I want to go faster and with less energy consumed?
I know the road tire will have less rolling resistance but how much of that extra energy that i'll be saving will have to go to spin the wheel and tire 20 more times in a mile.
Just to let you guys know I have a BMC 1000w motor if that makes a difference. I'm pretty new to e-bike and electric motors in general, obviously turning the tire 20 more times in a mile will increase the rpm of the motor but does more power draw come with more rpm or no because the bike will have less resistance? Thanks for the help and please let me know if you need anything cleared up or any more measurements.

I think you know the answer, efficiency is all going to depend on lower rolling resistance, lower air resistance etc. Even with motors, I can feel it that a good road tire or hibrid tire is better than big off road knobs. But if you battery is sized correctly, that is big enough, it really does become a question of how many angels can dance on a pin. If your battery and motor setup has decent reserve, say 3-4 miles further than your typical trip, what's the difference if you use a tire that cuts range by 1/2 mile?

As I say all this, I do admit that I never did any real world tests of this effect of tires on range myself. Pedaling of course, you feel a huge difference, but motorized, I doubt it matters as much as having the kind of tire you like, for the riding you do. So don't hesitate to choose the dirt tire if you ride dirt, or the street tire for street, or in between tires for have it both ways.

dogman said: