When you had a cell go bad. What was the main mistake you did?

Cyclomania

10 kW
I wonder what mistakes are to be avoided that other people have already made when making their lithium battery packs?

What happened to you when you had an accident or a cell that went burning or something like that? And how do you avoid that mistake when building your battery packs nowadays?

I want to know since I am a battery building noob that is researching the subject to avoid all mistakes and minimize thing that can go wrong. Thanks

I had a battery fire at home because I thought it's safe to build it at my desk. One short circuit and battery started burning. Next mistake was a mosquito net in my window, couldn't throw the burning stuff out and had to take it to another room without the net. Another mistake was not having any fire extinguisher or a plan what to do when things go wrong. And finally, soldering nickel strips to cells is a bad idea. Nickel strips should be spot welded and for soldering use copper wires.

If you plan to use the battery at lower power levels that don't require cooling: double wrap the cells if you're going to glue them together. Use fish paper for insulation at spots where the nickelstrip could rub through and short, and use it a lot. Make sure balance wires can't move. Use Bimetallic charge temperature interuptors.

I had a battery fire at home because I thought it's safe to build it at my desk. One short circuit and battery started burning. Next mistake was a mosquito net in my window, couldn't throw the burning stuff out and had to take it to another room without the net. Another mistake was not having any fire extinguisher or a plan what to do when things go wrong. And finally, soldering nickel strips to cells is a bad idea. Nickel strips should be spot welded and for soldering use copper wires.