Quality Control Reject Cells

Lucifer

100 W
I'm very new to this literally a couple of weeks BUT I was a qualified electrical engineer.

The issue of QC reject cells has literally just come to my attention, and apart from the fact that in the UK its a criminal offence to sell any kind of QC reject WITHOUT CLEARLY INDICATING that's what it is. It's a problem, but it obviously is happening.

So this post is more of a thinking out loud than a solution,

But firstly the obvious....... If you have been conned report it, only when enough people do that do the Trading Standards get the police involved and take action. Yes its a pain, but you can't really complain if you are basically conned and don't report it can you?

BUT, thats after the event isn't it, it helps others but not immediately you, which is why so many people don't bother and the problem gets bigger and bigger.

But is there anything you do to test a product yourself?

I don't have an immediate answer BUT THIS IS A FACT, with every other electrical product ever made, the most likely time for it to fail is when its new, that's a fact, if these is a fault it usually shows itself very quickly. Once it has survived a couple of weeks constant use, it will usually last years, and even then it is usually a mechanical part in the item that actually causes it to go to the recycle center. For several years the entire Television Set manufacturing industry, had entire buildings full of thousands of TV sets undergoing "Soak Testing", basically plugged in working waiting for them to fail or need adjusting BEFORE SELLING THEM TO THE PUBLIC, I used to build these soak testing facilities.