10k+ miles ebike tour - Africa, Capetown to AddisAbbeba

Hello guys,

I have considered doing a longer tour by ebike for several years now. I often do long bike tours, for example Europe to Southarica; Europe to Japan; Argentina to Canada, with non-touring bikes. I have used six different bikes so far, a rigid MTB-frankenstein bike, a hardtail MTB, a full-suspension MTB, a city-bike, a cyclocross hybrid and a carbon roadbike. For possible future tours I might try a folding bike, ebike or folding-ebike.

A redditor linked me to the video-logs of grindz145 and I found the 4400m journey to be very interesting and a good proof-of-concept that long ebike tours can be done. I'm reasonably fit and often bike light or ultralight, resulting in average distances of 100-150miles per day, I can only imagine that having an engine would increase the range even more.

I'm a bit sceptical when it comes to recharging, especially in third-world countries.

Unfortunately I have no background in electronics and have to read into the material first. I noticed a lot of conversion kits and DIY projects on this forum. I was more thinking along the lines of a bike like this: http://www.stromerbike.com/en/de/e-bikes/stromer-st2 Are these good values for an ebike?

If I do decide to go for an ebike, my route would most likely be Capetown to Addies Abbeba, through western Africa. It's about 8000miles, but I'm sure I can find a nice worthwhile detours. I'm very interested in your opinions, since I'm a veteran traveller, but have never used an ebike before.

A few questions, please excuse if they are insanely stupid:
1. Would a hub-dynamo up front hooked to your battery increase your range? Not trying to build a perpetuum mobile, but maybe it adds a few % to the milage?
2. How feasable is charging a battery with large-surface solar panels? I'm personally not the biggest fan of them, but I remember seeing pictures of touring-ebikers with solar panels on their trailers.