An electrified light Dahon

996c2s

1 µW
It all started when I saw a Vitesse D8 on sale on black friday, It was listed for 490€ and I thought it wasn't a bad deal, so I grabbed it with intentions to go electric if I like the way it handles and here I am, sold and ready to commit. https://imgur.com/a/buyMxV7

I already have another folding ebike but with thicker tires and a hefty 60 pounds of weight, so I'm dedicating this build for portability sake. I have never built anything before except computers :roll: but I have spent some time doing my due diligence on ebike conversion options :

Mid motor: Great torque, less annoying cables but heaviest weight, chainring problems and faster drivetrain wear. (Disqualified because of weight)

Rear hub motor: Better traction the front wheel but also heavier and it's quiet painful to think about maintenance. (Maybe)

Front hub: easiest to install and maintain but least torque and traction, Dahon has only 74mm forks so size compatibility needs watching out for. (Maybe)

Now what I'm looking for is a quick city commuter that fully folds and drives up to 25 km\h and has 250 watt motor (regulations). There are premium options out there like Swytch and Vekkit but I want to get my hands dirty and have the leverage of customizing my bike and using third party batteries.

Vekkit have actually stopped selling full kits until next quarter and instead they sell a foc controller with an lod wireless module that can be paired with nearly most of the motors out there, it sells for 180€. I think It's a nice albeit pricey option but you can have easy control over Bluetooth.

I'm mostly interested in the Aikema 74mm hub motor, since it fits the front fork width and it's incredibly light weight (1.6 kg/3.5 Ib). https://www.aikema.com.cn/en/product/product-18-212.html