Bms problem or bad cells in 36v package?

Sweden

1 µW
I have a 36v stand up escooter that has been cutting of faster and faster latest time.

I started with measuring the cellgroups right after it cut off. All of the ten groups had 4,0v-4,1v. I plugged in the charger and it charge for about 15 minutes. Measuring again and now I have 3,66v in one group and 4,1v in the rest. How could that be? I thought it would be the opposite. Do you think I have a problem in the 3,66v group or is it the BMS that causing the problem?

This is the first time I open up a battery so total beginner in this.

The issue is in the B2 group

Thanks!

Attachments

• D87C0A47-F71D-49EF-A941-96274A738884.jpeg
    D87C0A47-F71D-49EF-A941-96274A738884.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 6
  • AA5E2AA0-FE9D-493F-8C72-B45DDBD19B23.jpeg
    AA5E2AA0-FE9D-493F-8C72-B45DDBD19B23.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 6
  • F0552BCD-FEAE-44E2-A711-0DF26ACDBC07.jpeg
    F0552BCD-FEAE-44E2-A711-0DF26ACDBC07.jpeg
    935.6 KB · Views: 5
Last edited:
My thought is you have some bad cells in that group. I had something very similar happen on one of my battery builds long ago that used computer laptop batteries (not a good idea.....).

You must have measured it wrong the first time. B2-B1 is 3.66V? This is what an unbalance battery looks like, and many scooter/ebike packs end up like this, I do not think it is the BMS. It is bad cells.

I think the main cause is one of the three cells in the B2 group was weak. Causes the group to drain faster. It initially ends a little lower in voltage than the others after a recharge, With repeated run/charge cycles, the group never catches up and the spread gets larger. Now you have that group at 50% charge and your range is short.

In my opinion, move on and replace the battery. Safety issues.