Building HXT 80-100-B 130Kv bike

VRdublove

100 W
Hey guys, my buddy is using the HXT 80-100-B 130Kv Brushless RC motor to build an ebike.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=5142

We're using the Turnigy 100A HV ESC :http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=6550&Product_Name=TURNIGY_Sentilon100A_HV_5-12S_(USA_Warehouse)

I'm new to this RC stuff, but as far as I know, we also need a BEC and a Servo tester, is this correct? The ESC's page says "BEC: N/A (No BEC)". Does this mean that one is not needed for this controller, or it is not included in the controller? Also, where can I order a servo tester and BEC (if I need one) in the states?

We are planning on using 4 Zippy 22.2V, 5Ah packs connected 2S2P for 44.4V, 10Ah. I appreciate any help you guys can give!

Tommy,

That controller doesn't have a built-in BEC. The BEC is only needed to power the servo tester.

You should consider waiting for fechter's circuit board, which combines the functions of servo tester, BEC and current control:
http://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=8160

Otherwise:
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/VHVBEC.htm
http://www.astroflight.com/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&keyword=servo+tester

That motor should work OK. But, the controller concerns me. Right now, there are only a few controllers that work for e-bike use. Please be sure to post your results with that controller. It would be fantastic to know of a decent innexpensive controller we can use. :)

Matt

Can you post some more details about your setup, aka... how this motor is applied to the bike, mounting, battery placement, etc.....
thanks

Your selections look pretty good based on what I've been picking up so far. Those Zippy packs seem to be a very good value. So far so good as far as I can tell.

You will need to get one of Fechters circuits.

Thanks for the quick responses guys!