cell identification help

simonastro

10 µW
hi there

i'm a novice trying to repair the battery pack from an E2GO scooter (UK 2010). the battery pack is the removable li-ion only type. on inspection it contains 4 groups of 8 pouch cells of which 4 have decayed and expanded. the remaining 4 of that group measures <6v but the other 3 groups are holding at 6.6v.
individual pouches I assume are around 1.5v and I'm wondering if I can replace them.
I don't know the Ah rating but E2GO literature claims either 20, 26 or 40Ah. the charger delivers 4 x 15v @ 10A.
I've trawled li-ion battery lists but have found none at these dimensions - 116mm x 97mm x 11mm approx.
there is no branding on the foil but there is this code

-ALP11100120
+HY922110110

I wonder if anyone would have advice on how to proceed or information about the provenance of the cells?

many thanks

simon

A lithium ion cell should have a voltage of between 2.5 to 4.2 volts.
If your cells are outside that range, they are either trashed or some other chemistry (unlikely)
The charger voltages don't seem to relate to a 4P, 8S lithium pack...
..can you confirm the motor system voltage.?

yep, i cannot follow what you have. it is easiest to just take picture of your equipment showing the battery packs and how it is wired up so we have some idea of what you are talking.

download the picture to your disc and then use <upload attachment> down at the bottom below the text box. find the picture and open it and then 'add file'.

we call that 16S2P and if you have 6.6V on each of those sections with 4 pouches then each cell has 3.3V on it. the ones with puffing are the ones below 6V? when you say decayed, that means the voltage is very low, lower than the <6V of the others that puffed also?