• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Clacking motor!

unclejam

10 W
Hi folks
After many months of building, failing and overcoming problems, my bike has finally hit the street.
For about 100metres.....
The hub motor, which spins freely and perfectly when pedalled, turns evil when under power and is emitting a terrible "clack" noise every few rotations ( but seemingly not EVERY rotation). This noise is bad enough to be felt clearly through the bike frame and handlebars and is apparently mechanical rather than electrical but being a noob, I'm not certain.

Can anyone please give me some clues as to what might be happening here, as I'm pretty despondent tonight :cry:
Thanks in advance for any help

Motor - unknown Chinese Crystalyte style, rewired for about 3 KW (was used)
Controller - Lyen 18fet 4110
Battery - 19s 6p 18650

BTW motor is direct, non- geared before you ask!

Could be a short in the phases. Do you have a motor tester or multimeter?

Hi, thanks for the reply - yes I have a multimeter (AND a Cycle Analyst!)
Any suggestions welcome!

Hi folks
After many months of building, failing and overcoming problems, my bike has finally hit the street.
For about 100metres.....
The hub motor, which spins freely and perfectly when pedalled, turns evil when under power and is emitting a terrible "clack" noise every few rotations ( but not EVERY rotation). This noise is bad enough to be felt clearly through the bike frame and handlebars and feels mechanical but is obviously being caused by an off/on power phenomenon. When the throttle is eased off to a gentle cruise, the noise stops.

It has been suggested that the magnets may be damaged or chipped, causing a misread by the hall sensors?

Thanks in advance for any help

Motor - unknown Chinese Crystalyte / MXUS style, direct, non- geared & rewired for about 4 KW (was bought used)
Controller - Lyen 18fet 4110
Battery - 19s 6p 18650