Components advice / feedback for Q128C Build

Lovelock

10 W
Hi, I'll try make this intro quick.

I was certain I getting a BBSHD and battery from Jimmy (Insat / BGA Reworking) totalling to just shy of £1000.

After speaking to some people on the Pedelecs forum and also seeing some builds using the Q128 rear hub I've decided I don't need the power and price of BBSHD and am excited about getting my head into motors / controllers and sensors etc along with going for a stealthy build.

My new commute is under 7 miles with a maximum hill gradient of around 4%. Pair that with that fact i'm only 5ft 4' and weight < 10 stone I think a 500w rear hub motor is enough considering i'm also using my light road bike.

So, after hours of researching and trying to get my head around everything I settled on the Q128C rear hub. This will be respoked onto my existing rear wheel so will just be buying the hub.

As i'm totally new to this, I need some advice on the controller side of things and required battery specs.

Advice from a member on Pedelecs said there is no controllers really suitable on BMS (where i'm buying the motor) for the Q128c. They linked me to the following controller: http://www.pswpower.com/peng/iview.asp?KeyID=dtpic-2016-3F-33C0.50CGS

I can purchase the PAS etc along with the throttle when I buy the controller. Is this controller suitable for the motor? Or is there a better brand / supplier / spec controller thats better?

Also, going with a 500w motor and any example controller what would the minimum battery continuous output need to be at 48v?

--

A list of current purchase list:

- Motor £91 posted (currently going for higher RPM, feel free to suggest the lower one): https://bmsbattery.com/ebike-kit/768-q128c-135mm-500w-rear-driving-ebike-hub-motor-ebike-kit.html#/43-voltage-48v/214-rpm-328

- Controller £80 posted (including throttle, PAS, Speed sensor and display): http://www.pswpower.com/peng/iview.asp?KeyID=dtpic-2016-3F-33C0.50CGS