• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

DIY heated clothing - noob needs help

hjns

100 kW
Hi all,

Winter is coming, and it's cold when going 65kmh. So I did some surfing for heated clothing, and arrived here:
http://www.mototour.us/technical/electricclothes.htm

Now, I am an electronics noob, so I have some basic questions.
Essentially, the idea is to have a small 32AWG teflon coated heating wire woven into my jacket.

I like this one: https://www.distrelec.ch/ishop/Datasheets/05545009.pdf

I plan to weave about 10 meters of this wire into my jacket. Then connect it to a fuse and 5A 12V DC converter. I expect the 10m 32AWG wire to have a resistance in the range of 3 Ohm, and that it will heat up when pulling 5A. My idea was to be able to adjust the amount of heat by adding a potmeter in series.

I was thinking about this one with a resistance rate between 5 Ohm and 25 kOhm: http://www.schukat.com/schukat/pdf.nsf/index/3487DAF0BF91036DC1256F9C0033BB4F/$file/E_AW_2010_GB.pdf

Obviously, with a 25kOhm resistance, current would be near zero, resulting in no heat.
With the potmeter at 5 Ohm, and the wire also at 3 Ohm, current would be 1.5A (12 V/8 Ohm).
This would give a power of 18W, 3/5th of which is turned into heat, aka 10.8W

If I leave out the Potmeter altogether, I will get 4 Amps = 48W of heat, which may be too much.

Would that work?
A potmeter with a lower resistance would allow for more current through the wire. Any suggestions for potmeters that are within a reasonable budget (around 10-15 USD) ?

If you're building from scratch why bother with 12V? I've been noodling with some designs using traction battery voltage around 60V in my situation.