Looking to build a Dual Motor Longboard, Newbie!

aired_e39

1 µW
Hi All,
My office is moving with in a mile of me and I have been looking at electric skateboards, looked at marbel, boosted and more (ridden the e-go, its ok but lots of room for improvement)...but I am also a self taught mechanic and have more hours fixing, modifying and customizing cars then I care to think about. So in saying that I have decided that I want to explore looking at how to build a electric skateboard.

here are my goals and questions:

- spend limit of $800-1000 on everything except the deck.
- Dual Motor with dual esc
- torqueboard motor mounts
- caliber trucks
- anti spark switch from diyelectricskateboard
- the wii reciever and remote from diy electricskateboard

a) 25+ mph top speed with good acceleration
a1) what gear rations will i need, how do i balance the two?
a2) where can i find the motor and wheel pulley assemblies?
a3) with dual motors i was thinking the turnigy sk3 motors with 290kv, is this enough or should i be looking at different motors?

b) dual motors and dual esc's...
b1) should i be looking at esc's that are programmable? if so which ones?
b2) how do wire up two esc's to a single receiver?
b3) do i need to worry about adding capacitors to the circuits?

c) batteries and more
c1) what size of batteries do i need? I was thinking more towards the 10s lipo side of things, how many mAh's?
c2) battery management system? Where do i find these and how do determine what i need?

I have read through a couple of build threads but i have yet to see anyone explain how to run two esc's, are there wiring diagrams?

Thank you all in advance, I am quite excited about a build like this if i can keep it reasonable...

Welcome to ES aired!

Sounds pretty doable if you are selective on components.

Let's break it down for you:

Motors - i'd recommend one of 3:
1 - Tacon bigfoot (63mm 245kv) - 55ea - $110.
2 - DIYes 5065 Sensored motor - (50mm 170kv sensored) - 85ea - $170