Usable range predictions for moped conversion?

northernmike

10 kW
Hi folks.

If you've been following my moped conversion at all, sorry it's taking so long!

I've recently become worried about my batteries though. I was planning to use a bunch of 12V 7AH sla I happen to have on hand - 4 in series, specifically - to run my HXT 80-100-B. I'm concerned I won't get enough current, or enough range.

The bike is said to weigh 90lbs with the I.C.E., I'm expecting it to come in at about 85 without the batteries. I'm thinking to gear it such that at 130kv / 48v it does about 50kph.

What do you guys think my practical range will be with these batteries? Should I forget it and go to 12AH units?

You'll get from 25-50 Wh/mi. I'd only count on 150 Wh from your batteries. So, somewhere around 3 miles to 5 miles?

Yikes, I'm no expert but a quick look at the bicycle power calculator says you'd need something like 1200W to the wheel for that speed. Figuring a probably optimistic 75% motor efficiency kicks that up to 1600W from the battery or some 33A at 48V. If your controller can handle that then the batteries could probably deliver the current (with lots of voltage sag) for 5 minutes maybe a bit longer. Become more realistic with the speed, say 32Kph and the power required drops a ton to perhaps only 10A allowing you to go maybe 20-25 minutes on the 48V 7AH pack.

This is all just based on theorectical data of course but it's probably pretty close.

http://www.kreuzotter.de/english/espeed.htm

http://www.bb-battery.com/productpages/BP/BP7-12.pdf

I'd say go for the 12AH AND cut the speed!

-R

Actually - this is all looking pretty acceptable.

My commute is only 4.6km, and pretty flat.

Karen, with the same motor in her Vespa Boxer is making 25 wh/km on 36V, and the HXT from my understanding likes 48V better.

32kph is probably a more realistic speed, especially for legal reasons.