• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Wife finally wants one - $400ish budget

cgbjake

10 mW
So the wife is actually interested. I've been riding an Ebike since living in Hawaii 7 years ago. I heavily leark around these boards and try to absorb all that I can. I really need to find someone to talk to in my area, I can keep everything straight...in come my question.

She has a simple woman's mountain bike with narrow tires. She has a bad knee and would like to ride in the area, but the hills kill her...flats are ok. Any idea what the best would be, keeping the budget under 400ish? I could build a system like mine, but may be a bit noisy for her. Hub motors are another easy install, but I'm new to those and can't keep the technology straight (brushless, halls, sensors). So anyone have a reliable kit that can take her up some of the CT hills and allow her to pedal on the flats?

I'm in the middle of my new build and may have to speed it up and build two. I'll post my pics soon!

Bret

Cell_man kit, shipped via the cheapest shipping method.
Lead acid batteries.
Something to hold the lead acids to the bike..
It will be heavy as hell though and you may have to carry it for her.

That's what you get for $400.

If you throw down another $400, you could get a bike kit with a lithium battery which would save a lot of weight, and the battery would last 3 times as long or more.

But your budget is cutting it way too close. You are in eZip trailz territory. Those are noisy and heavy.

Bike size? Her size? Is CT hills as in the state if CT. How fast/far do you want to go on flats. Hard to advise on anything with such little info. That said, it's not hard to build one for $400 unless you want a lot of range. I've built 3 in the last 6 months. The one in sig being the most expensive.