Battery Connections

Tom Wrigley

1 µW
Could anyone help please regarding battery connections. I have recently bought an old Transx Eagle 250 which has a duff battery , I am thinking of buying a battery pack to fit inside the original case which appears to be of a similar output but the original battery is the LiPo type and has 4 connectors Red Black then 2 more thinner wires Blue and white. The new battery only has the + and - wires plus the charger input. I have stripped down the original battery pack to find out where the extra wires are from on the BMS and they come from the SDA and SCL points on the circuit board.
My question is, would everything work ok without these 2 connections or should i find the location of the points on the new BMS board and solder these two wires in.
I am a novice regarding electric bikes but quite technically minded.
Thanks in anticipation of any help offered.
Tom

Some OEM bikes (prebuilt vs DIY) use communications between system components (like the battery and controller) in a way that means the system will not operate correctly or at all with anything other than the original model-specific components. SDA and SCL are serial data and serial clock signals; if these go from battery to controller the system may not work without hte original battery. There's nowhere you can connect them on any new part that would do what is necessary, even if the new part has the same labelled pads, because the new part (if it's not the same as the original, from the bike manufacturer) won't have the right software in it to know what data to send, or how to respond to data from the controller.