Hub successfully rebuilt! need advice for cutting and welding larger seat and chain stays on rear triangle

kenshippo

10 µW
Hello all

I am a first time builder of a hub as I purchased a 26 inch hub motor instead of a 24 inch one. Its hard to find hub motors that size that would ship in a decent time so I decided to purchase spokes from Grin Technologies and a 24 inch rim from either there or somewhere else. I have used their spoke calculator as well.

They have several rim types and I am not sure which one to get. I was looking at the crystalyte one but the infamous Chalo was saying its rubbish.

I also heard weinmann isn't that bad.

I then heard the Halo rim is the bees knees. While I respect the price of 69$, that combined with the lack of a rim profile on grin is going to make it more expensive and more of a headache. While the ERD and rim width is provided, I haven't been able to find any information on the left and right offsets for it. If anyone has one and can provide them that would be great.

The rim will be used on a front loading cargo bike. The rear hub motor is 2000w 72v.
So my first question is how much should I be stressing over the rim, and which one should I get.

IMG_20240123_130330969_HDR.jpgIMG_20240123_130338142_HDR.jpg
This is my old rim, 26 inch. Also its worth nothing that the axle doesn't fit in the dropouts, so I tried bending the frame with some but not enough success.
I am worried that the torque of the hub might be too much for the dropouts as well. Would like some opinions on this.

IMG_20240210_175805174.jpg

I've purchased the 24 inch halo rim, and I suppose brought the thing into dish.

Right now I am concerned that the wire exiting the hub motor is too close to disc brake mounts. Any suggestions?

IMG_20240228_144625717.jpg

UPdate@

We have been running, I've limited the power to 48v, up to pas 4 max out of 5. At pas 5 we get around 36-38mph top speed.
We have done 280miles on the odomoter with no signs of wear to the dropouts.