My experience with Fardriver ND84530

neowizard

100 mW
So, if any of you have read my post about losing my old controller (Sevcon Dragon 8 ), you know Votol was a huge disappointment for me. However, my Fardriver ND84530 just arrived a few days ago and it's everything I hoped for and more. I got motor-spin as almost soon as I hooked up the battery, phase lines, hall sensors and throttle. I did have to disable the motor temp sensor in the app, since the controller expects 6 wires on the hall-sensors plug (V+, GND. temp sensor and 3 hall-sensor wires), and my motor doesn't have a temp sensor wire (from what I see, this is pretty common). Mind you, my motor is some unbranded 6kW, 17", 25kg mystery, so I was really impressed it spun without lots of configuring (the Votol EM30s failed to run it at all before it died).

I started playing around with the PC and Android apps at this point. All I can say is that it's OK. The Android app is solid enough to use (I heard reports of common disconnects, didn't experience nothing like that). The PC app is OK. Far from perfect (crashes every now any then, and sometimes it resets input values for no reason), but I was happy it worked out of the box.

The motor then started to beep two short beeps and then a long one, indicating it wants to run auto-learning. Took me a bit to get it to run the auto-learning process because I was terrified of letting my 25kg wheel run at unknown RPM on my janky test-stand. I kept setting the phase-current really low (~80A), or play with the throttle limits. That made the process fail to complete.