[newbie] e-bike battery _commercial-availability_ lifetime

Tom_Roche

1 µW

summary​

Assume you're buying an e-bike, in 2023, from a reasonably large/respectable manufacturer, who is in turn sourcing parts from reasonably large/respectable suppliers. How long can you reasonably plan to be able to purchase a replacement battery via reasonably-normal means? In other words, what's the "commercial-availability lifetime"[1] for an e-bike battery currently? (notes at end)

I realize this is a somewhat vague question, that moreover requires forecasting. But I'm not asking for an exact answer based on a large dataset (unless you have one); I'm just asking for informed opinion from folks who have much more experience with e-bikes than I do.

details​

(I've been using normal/human-powered bicycles for ~50 years, but e-bikes for only 1 month, so apologies for any ignorant/uninformed statements I may make.)

Hopefully the following examples will flesh-out what I mean by commercial availability of replacement batteries, with answer parameters including

1. standardization
  2. manufacturers: number, reputation
  3. retail channels: number, reputation, speed of access
  4. effects of time delta between host-product discontinuance and when you want/need to get a replacement
  5. OEM vs 3rd-party suppliers

(and hopefully won't TL;DR you).

commercial availability of AA batteries​

Suppose you buy, in 2023, something powered by AA batteries. Given that AAs have been manufactured for over a century, and standardized since WW2, you can reasonably assume that you'll be able to purchase replacement batteries ~forever (barring nuclear holocaust), from a variety of reputable manufacturers, through a huge retail network, whenever you need a replacement. (This is more true of nonchargeable than rechargeable AA batteries, but even rechargeables are, in 2023 in the US, widely available from several manufacturers via multiple retail channels, from supermarkets to online.)