Planing to use e-bike battery to power head/tail light.

AF7JA

100 W
I realize this is more headlight related than e-bike; but it is still going on an ebike.

I have a 36V bottle battery for my ebike. I also have a Magic Shine clone and and a 3V (PDW Danger zone) tail light.

Instead of having several batteries on my bike, all with different chargers, I want to power the other two light from the "main" battery.

My plan is to solder leads from the Bottle Battery case, after the main on/off switch, but before the e-bike controller. Those leads would then go to a pair of voltage regulators, one for the headlight and the other to the tail light (I need two of them because they operate at different voltages).

Does this seem sane? Any concerns (I am an Amateur Extra, I know which end of a soldering iron to hold)?

The voltage regulator
Non-synchronous rectification non-isolated Buck (SEPIC) module.
Input Voltage: DC 4.5-55V; Output Voltage: DC 1.25-30V Adjustable.
Output Current: Rated 2A, Max.3A(need heat sink). If output power is more than 15W, please install heat sink.
Short Circuit Protection: current limiting, since the recovery.
Application: DIY Adjustable Power Supply, DIY Universal Charger, Power supply for electronic equipment etc.

Your plan is sane. Consider the efficiency of your regulators and any heat they may need to dissipate as the only issues. A bottle battery sounds like it's pretty small and low-capacity, but even so I wouldn't imagine your range will be much effected unless the regulators get awful efficiency.

I don;t like wasting your magic shine, but if you search "80V LED" on ebay you'll find a lot of headlights with regulators built in. You may be able to crimp some connectors and give the sodlering a miss.