Motor Repair BMC or MAC in fact Any type ** FIXED **

knoxie

1 MW
Hi

My main BMC geared motor that I have been using for 7 years now (daily driver) started to play up a while back and as it was too cold outside to fix it I used one of my other bikes in the meantime. I got the bike back out and had a look, the symptoms sounded so much like the gears grinding (it had had a new set the first set since new! So I doubted this but anyway) I wiggled the lead as it entered the motor and the motor ran so I figured that it was the wire broken inside, I resoldered some of the joints in the hall plug on both sides and it continued to work, problem solved or so I thought.

Anyway come out of work on Friday and it’s a no go, the fault was odd through, it would run fine lifting the wheel off the ground but soon as I got on it it wouldn’t go, growled and refused leaving me to think it was the gear slipping as I had seen this before.

So yesterday armed with some new cable I snipped off the connectors and pulled the motor apart, I cut all of the wires at the base of the motor leaving just the coloured stubs from each set of windings so I could easily identify them and re connect the new wires, I snipped open the sleeving on all three of the phase wires to get to the joints it was then that I found my problem and I should have known because it has done this before.

DOH! The yellow phase wire has come unsoldered and was only just making the driest of contacts! Grrrrrr should have checked this before I cut all the wires off! Ha ha oh well and I know how this happened as it happened before, previous to the bike going bad I had fitted a little booster pack to the bike taking it up from 50 to 60V in other words out of my usual sweet spot for reliability at the expense of lots of fun of course! This puts a lot more power down through the windings and of course the solder joints to each phase, the heat dries out and unsolders the joint!