Odd Sound. Please Help.

Jason27

10 kW
Hi everyone.

I have an odd sound coming from my hub motor. I have a golden motor kit and when I spin the front hub motor it sounds like there are rocks moving around inside. It's not the spokes. I checked them and they seem tight. The sound just started happening. Is it to keep riding? What could it be?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback.

Jason

Ooooh.
Don't ride it. Especially if it's a front motor. I've heard stories of the magnets coming loose and it could potentially cause the motor to lock up.
Unless some one can offer a different hypothesis, I would open up the motor and inspect it.
It's fairly easy, but it can seem daunting. Search around for info about opening hub motors.

Could it be a ball bearing or something?

I will probably just send it back. I am new to ebiking. The noise sounds like rocks or marbles inside the hub.

Jason27 said:
I will probably just send it back. I am new to ebiking. The noise sounds like rocks or marbles inside the hub.

See what it costs to ship it back.. hopefully the cost is not astronomical.

Too bad your had to be introduced into the world of eBiking with a motor that is not known to be reliable. ( either that or it is luck of the draw, some are built on a friday, some aren't ).

IMHO replace it with a cell man kit, ebikekit, or amped bike kit motor. They are a great deal and much more reliable.

I agree, don't ride it anymore, it is likely that a magnet is bouncing around.. or part of a magnet..

I am going to contact golden motor tomorrow about the rattling noise and send the hub back.

I just got this kit too. I only rode it twice and it started making this noise.