48v abused battery severely reduced range.

Rokokong

1 µW
Hello!

Im new here but not new to ebikes, would love some insight.

I have 48v 10ah Hailong battery pack Ive used for about 2-3 years. Ive abused this battery, standing long days in direct sunlight, in rain, temp fluctuations you name it. It first was used on a 500w Bafang hub motor and then a 1000w BBSHD.

The range is about 1/10th of what it used to be, understandably.
But when I measure the voltage of it at full charge it still shows expected voltage. Im a noob when it comes to batteries and electronics and thought that the misuse of this battery would degrade cells and it wont be able to hold proper voltages. What is causing the severe drop in range?

Voltage says literally nothing about State of Health.

Capacity testing is canonical

but climbing internal resistance can render a worn batt unfit for a given use case too.

Generally, if a battery tests at 50Ah when new, it should be retired / repurposed when that capacity declines below 40Ah, and certainly well before it hits 30Ah.

Depending on how it is cared for, for li-ion chemistries, that might be only 30-50 cycles

or it could be 500 cycles, but that is very hard to achieve in this use case.

goatman said:
probably way out of balance

you really should open it up and check the voltage of each p-group

Ok good to know! I did open it up to visually inspect it, though it was gonna look like hell in there as it did with the old hub motor I used with it. How do I measure the voltage of each p-group?

With a multi-meter you can buy from Harbor King ins the USA for $10.
Figure out which is positive, which is negative for the entire battery, work your way from one end.
Its obvious

Snap some pictures

Rokokong said:
How do I measure the voltage of each p-group?