Agni 95R overhaul help - noob here

sdeluca

1 µW
I have a 2010 Zero DS with the Agni 95R motor. I was having issues with a grinding/rubbing sound and eventually a burning smell (you can read a longer description of symptoms below) that resulted in sending the motor to Zero for them to check the brushes, as they suspected that was the problem. They inspected them and determined they were fine and shipped the motor back to me with the explanation that the "magnets were weak, the only option is a whole new motor" which makes no sense based on the symptoms I experienced.

I managed to remove half of the motor casing to inspect the armature myself. I inserted a shim between the magnets and the armature and moved it around the armature to check the distance. There was certainly a difference in the spacing towards one side. I imagine this means one of two things. The shaft is very slightly bent, such a minor amount that I could not determine it by measuring - or - the shims have shifted out of place and the armature is not level. The only other observation I noted was that the edge of some of blades on the armature were ground away. This was on both sides of the armature, on the same outer edge; not opposing edges as one would expect if the rotation of the armature was tilted and it was rubbing - very strange.

Before I bother to remove the armature and continue inspection I wanted to start a thread and ask some more experienced folks out there what their ideas may be on my problem. I have no experience working with these motors so this overhaul is a also an education for me. Below are pictures I took when I cracked open the motor case. Obviously the magnets, the commutator, and just about everything else needs cleaning, but I know the problem is much more complicated than that.