Beach Cruiser build

gogreenpower

100 mW
Hi guys,

Well this is my first attempt at building an ebike. My aim was a beach cruiser, with a 50km range while doing 30kph. its role is just to commute to and from work along bike tracks a few km's of road.
I went with a 36v 350w kit and a 20ah Li-ion battery. I made a few mistakes ordering the various parts and had a few challenges along the way but managed to get past them all so far...

IMG_1585 (Medium).JPG
I managed to get the bike brand new for $162. It has some drawbacks, chrome fenders, single speed, crappy front calliper brake, cheapest bell known to man, but on the plus side the steel frame is pretty decent quality.

IMG_1660 (Medium).JPG
The Conhismotor kit minus the battery which came a few days later. I still don't know what that green strap is for? The quality of the components are fine, the throttle and LCD don't feel like cheap plastic, the controller is solid, some of the wires get a bit warm, so a smaller gauge would have been nice but no problems yet. The brake leavers were better than what was on there. The motor has a high quality finish and feels solid. Very similar to a 200w Bafang my neighbour has. The only complaint I have was with the pannier rack, it arrived all bent and twisted. nothing I couldn't remedy with a hammer, its still noticeable but probably only to me. One poor choice I made is that the throttle and the battery have a key. Just plain old annoying to turn two keys on and off.

photo (Medium).JPG
To fit the torque arm some drilling and a visit to the hardware store was required. Some may question my use of a torque arm on a 350w motor and steel forks but I still have my doubts about a $162 bike.

IMG_1796 (Medium).JPG
IMG_1797 (Medium).JPG
IMG_1798 (Medium).JPG

IMG_1793 (Medium).JPG