BMC hub motor loses power intermittently under load

ePhat

1 mW
First of all, thank you in advanced for even clicking on the link to try and help me out. This is my first build and I'm kind if surprised I made it this far without needing some assistance.

I purchased a couple BMC hub motors/controllers from another member here on ES. He ended up being local and has been a great help during the build, but I have an issue and believe it's one if the motors.

This is the scenario:
I roll on the throttle and one if the motors cuts out at about 1/2. I have to cycle the throttle off and on in order for it to power up again. When this occurs, the diagnostic lights on one of the controllers goes solid red while the other remains flashing like everything is ok. It was also noted by a friend that rode the bike last weekend that the motor cut out when he hit some bumps. I've also noted the the front motor seems to b a little noisier with very low throttle input on the stand.

You may have been observant and noticed that I said "one" of the motors cuts out. That's because it's two wheel drive. The bike is very heavy and I wanted to have a good workhorse to get me up the hills around here. So I went with two motors.

Here's my equipment:

The bike - 2012 Phat stretch beach cruiser with modified frame. Rigid frame and solid forks.

The hub motors - 2x V4C BMC geared hub motors on the front and rear

photo 2

Untitled

The controllers - 2x BMC (might be someone else's repackage)

Untitled

The Battery -

Untitled

Here's a photo of the chart that shows what the lights mean when the flash

Untitled

Diagnostic steps taken so far:
* Swapped controllers from front to rear.
* Replaced and overlayed a harness to the front motor.
* Set both controller jumpers for smooth start and limited to 30A max current
* Ruled out the battery and switch since I have run both systems independent of each other and the issue only occurs with the front motor.