Chinese Tuk Tuk, need some hive wisdom

Hello all, glad to have found this forum. i've found great info here already, but now have some specific questions:

Electric-auto-rickshaw-pedicab-tuk-tuk-for.jpg

https://www.alibaba.com/product-det...m=a2700.7724857.normalList.16.34ba3385GjvN8h

Background:
some friends of mine own a wedding event space. they bought an electric Tuk Tuk on Alibaba.com. came with no instructions or schematic. I am a motorcycle mechanic, they asked if i would come take a look at it and see if i could help. This is my first foray into EV technology, but I love a challenge and love learning about new technologies. This is like trying to put together a puzzle blindfolded. Every label or bit of potentially helpful information is in Chinese. I wired up the 5x12v batteries in series to give the 60v motor what it desires. At this point, the lights come on, the accessories function, but the motor doesn't respond to any throttle inputs.

The controller was a big of a mystery until yesterday. Most connections are made, but some wire ends are left disconnected. I was able to email the company in China and get an english version of the wire pinout. very helpful.
controller-drawing.png

The first 5 wires listed are all disconnected. The hall sensor wires are patched to the motor. The throttle wires are patched to the throttle on the handlebars of the vehicle, but I haven't been able to meter any DCv between any of the leads. (This seems like a problem, but maybe it has to do with the next paragraph...) The fwd/reverse wires are patched to a thumbswitch on the handlebars, labeled in Chinese. The low level brake harness is disconnected. The wires going to the 60v battery source are patched, as are the 3 motor phases.