ebike battery troubleshooting

eatcarbs

1 µW
I'm a noob/ametuer trying to get my battery pack working for about a week now, and I'm reaching my wits end.

I hit a pothole while using a rear hub motor and I'm not completely sure what happened to the motor, The motor seized up and made a loud humming noise while turned on. I ended up pushing it home and got it in the garage to check it out. I had left the display at home because I hadn't mounted it yet. Plugged it in hoping to get an error code so I could at least find out whats wrong, but the battery lasted about 5 seconds before shutting off.

At this point, I haven't even touched the motor and have focused solely on the battery, because I have other functional motors that I can use. The battery has an external button that has LEDs that give an estimation of remaining power. This ceased to function, and the battery would not take a charge, or output any power. I've since disassembled the pack and tested connections between all the batteries, and they're giving consistent voltage. Checked the fuse with a multimeter and it's still reading. Some quick research led me to believe that something may be wrong with the BMS. After recieving a new BMS, I hooked it up to no avail - all the problems still persist.

I guess I need to start peeling all the glue out and checking out every wire/connector. The reason I'm posting this is hopefully someone with more experience than I may know whats going on with my pack and maybe point me in the right direction.

I don't actually have an ebike or hub motor yet but sounds to be like something got knocked loose in the actual motor...my guess maybe an actual magnet got dislodged? Does the rear tire spin freely? any odd noises?

Can you temporarily bypass the BMS and power a working system?