hobbycity lipo with smart bms shopping list

auraslip

10 MW
I'm considering building a 12s3p pack out thesecells on sale for $7 each. It'd be 44.4v 6.6ah for ~$90

I want to use one of these "smart" bms,and one of these chargers. $50

(After shipping that is only slightly more than a similar sized SLA pack!

bmsbattery.com will program the BMS and charger to what ever settings you want. What settings do should I use for this hobbycity lipo?

Before anyone says anything about the 10/20 amp limit of the BMS: I will follow hal's advice

I use to buy bms according to current that I use. Now I take the smallest current BMS and connect exit from bms to small power of controller and big wire from controller is connected to battery pack directly via fuse. when bms shuts down it does not cut off main power suply, just controller power.

Also, this is my first time with lipo: what connects and cabling will I need to set this up?

I know you are not made of money, but you will be looking at a lot of wiring. If you just solder it all permanently though, you only pay for some solder, and Whatever permanent connector you use on the main + and - wires.

So cut the wires on the three packs to be paralelled and solder them all together matching up the wire colors so you have one balance plug and a discharge plug. Then you will need to make a wire to your charger that matches the discharge plug. that's it.

The discharge plugs will have to be a kind that can be seperated, so you can series connect em without adapters. so bullets, andersons, or even spades with insulated covers.

Far as I know you are pioneering this use of the bms and charger. Good luck, and run it outside. I'd want a lipo charger myself for it, and then paralell all three sections of the battery to charge it. You could just build the paralell adapter into the charger wire, and do non balancing charging easy.