I want your opinions: Brushless controller features

ZapPat

10 kW
Hi all fellow ES members!

I have been working on my own ebike brushless controller prototype, and would greatly appreciate some idea input from my fellow ES members. Specially from you guys who have lots of practical EV experience, I would be most pleased if you could share your aquired wisdom with me. Even though I've been playing with brushless controller design for some years part-time on my workbench, I am quite new to actually applying it to real-world EV applications. BTW, I will not be able to implement all this right away of course, but I like to have many ideas at once to play with - Mainly so I can make the hardware ready to support future firmware changes. So...

"What features would the ideal ebike controller have?"
There might be a couple diverging views, but post any and all ideas please!

To start you off, I've come up with this possibly desirable feature list (feel free to pick apart, criticise and commend on at will!)
- Small (something like castle creations offerings)
- Efficient (mostly usefull because of the smaller heat sink requirements)
- User-configurable via simple computer interface window (Max current, LVC, HVC, + all other optional parameters)
- Regen on demand (with some automatic current adjustment done by the controller to optimize efficiency)
- Adjustable max regen current (*)
- ABS-type reaction (to avoid possible lock-ups, specially when using large motors like X5's - Note that this may just be equivalent to seting a max regen current...)
- Maybe use brake switch input to enable regen mode, and/or... Use "snap" the throttle off to coast or "roll" the throttle off to engine brake ---> Method's suggestion here!
- Adjustable high-voltage cutoff, for regen use (*) ---> Eventually a direct signal from the BMS would be much better, to cutoff/reduce regen current when first cell hits Vmax.