Making the products we want, intelligent bulk charger.

Teh Stork

1 kW
Hello, I've got a lot of projects going - and lately I've been looking closer into battery management and charging.

I want the charger to be intelligent in the sense that it will charge it up to the full 4,2V prior to riding. Storing the battery at 4,2V is not optimal, so storing it at a lower potential will squeeze out some extra cycles. Examples of 4 to 4,1V is normally used to prolong battery life. The capacity gain of charging to 4,2 isn't much, but it varies too much from chemistries to put a number on this. What I'd like to make: I come home at 1600, put the charger in - program the charger to charge it to 4,2V - at 0800 the next day. I want it to immediately bring the pack to the setpoint for short time storage, then I want it to fully charge up before my preset time is met. Features like preparations before long time storage and similar stuff could also be implementated easily.

I have some experience with c++, microcontrollers, java and (interfacing towards) phones - but little experience with chargers. I need more experience with making buck chargers/regulators. This thread (I hope) could be the place to share ideas around this, so we can make something specifically built for ebike use :)

It exists, Hyperion 1420i
Although I don't leave it on overnite, no need to. It's soooo fast and my pack is small :lol: .

Since what you really seem to want is a timed start-of-charge, and a charger that can monitor individual cell voltages, it sounds like it would be much easier to simply create a timer and wire that into the start button on an existing RC charger. ;)