My first hunting ebike build

sbaumann14

1 mW
I’m a 58 year old trucker. That being said, my knee needs a replacement within the next two years, and I’ve already done my ankle and my wrist surgeries. Was looking for something to get me back into the woods a lot easier than normally just driving back there and then walking in. Wanted to get an E bike but really didn’t know what I wanted and I was not ready or prepared to drop down 3 to $4000 on something I may or may not like. I like to tinker a lot, so I said to myself, why not build one yourself?
I went on YouTube and watched a lot of videos. There is a guy on there that has a channel called “Johnny nerd out”. JUST AWESOME! He answers all your questions you may ever have in various videos. He also has about 40 or 50 bikes that he is already custom built and you can get a look at what he did to them and how. He can also build you a bike for 30 to 40% cheaper than what you would buy in a store and it’s going to be a lot more powerful and a lot more reliable. If you’re looking to do something, like I just did, I would say, go to his YouTube channel and watch. You won’t be disappointed.
With that being said, onto my build….

As I live in northern Wisconsin, a lot of times that we’ll be out hunting there will be snow on the ground. So I wanted something that would have the ability to go through the snow, as well as the sand, the mud and the rocks, and any other sort of debris that might be out there. I decided to go with a fat bike model. As I was trying to keep this in a budget build, I went online and found a company called bikesdirect.com. I picked up a bike called a gravity monster. It has 26 x 4“ fat bike, tires, and 8 gears. You can get it in either blue or dark, gray metallic, and it was $630 to my door. Shipping took about four days from Texas to Wisconsin.

Bicycle Bicycles--Equipment and supplies Tire Wheel Crankset

Attachments

• 699A400E-E33D-40BD-89CF-34E8F5CBC30A.jpeg