New member says hello

PhredDaKat

10 mW
Hello all.... I have been lurking on these forums for Endless hours over the last several months and finally registered, I wanted to say a few words of appreciation. I'm a noob to e-bikes and have just purchased a used Dahon Mu with a Bionix power setup. I hadn't found these forums at that time and I may not have bought that setup if I had been reading here lol. But seriously, yeah I would have, it only cost me 100 US Dollars. It had been in storage for 10~12 years after the original died (not on the bike!) so it is very lightly used and in fine condition. Untill I turned it on, or tried to, dead battery of course. Thus began my internet education on e-bikes. I have been to many forums in my search for knowledge and found this site to be by far the most useful. I really appreciate the frank and honest answers I found here to questions I didn't even know to ask. Between these forums and sites like Battery University I feel like I've gotten an undergraduate degree in e-bike repair/maintenance and battery chemistry. I look forward to learning more here in the future and contributing when I can (next forum is the battery one so I can report the great deal on 18650's I found).

Thanks for taking me into the community!
Steve aka Phred the Cat

BionX are easy to hack, I believe the battery hack was a simple 1-10v signal, its precise like 4.20v or something or 5.85v, I cant remember.

Either way, I believe you could just buy a generic controller to replace the BionX controller if you cant find that BionX hack on ES.
Should be pretty easy to find, if not now, soon, someone will explain it all, and nod in agreement.

The DIY ebike explosion has arrived, I was waiting for it and its been here for the last 4-6 months, meanwhile I've been riding my diy ebike for the past 6yrs just about every single day, minimum 5 miles 12 times a year, maybe 12-15 days a year I dont leave the house, the rest its 20mi.+