Next Battery

jerrysimon

10 W
Hi all. I have been commuting to work on my eBrompton for three years now doing some 4000 miles. It transformed my working day :)

For all that time I have been using the round A123, 26650 2.3Ah cells. I make up simple DIY packs (though its cheaper to buy them ready made up now) 6s1p * 2 connected in series to give me a 12s1p, 36v, 2.3Ah pack. The 6s1p packs are easier to balance using one of my RC chargers, not that I need to do it that often as they self balance pretty well. My 10.5 mile round commute is pretty flat. Initially I use to just charge at home and run it flat but I lost a cell after a year from that abuse. Anyway I replaced a cell and its been fine having now done over 800 charge cycles. Considering the pack only cost me £70 to make, I have more than got my moneys worth. Anyway just lost another cell which I will replace.

If I go out for longer journeys I tend to take two of these A123 packs with me. My setup is very light assist (lTongxin based) and I tend to pedal all the time. It probably draws an average of no more than 5-6amps and propels me along easily up to about 17mph without me helping that much.

Anyway I have been thinking about getting another higher capacity pack for longer rides. I will continue to use my A123s for work. Being only 1kg they are great for the Brompton for carrying etc.

The easiest solution would be to buy a ready made 36v 10Ah pack. Probably a LiFePO4, but I like the idea of being able to service it myself. I have thus been thinking of either a Headway 12s1p pack of 10Ah cells again split into two 6s1p packs which I would maintain the balance of manually, though I appreciate that these will not hold their balance as well as A123s.

Another alternative for a slightly larger pack than I currently have, is a 6Ah one using a 20 cell 10s2p pack (split into 5s2p packs) of the Konion cells. Saw these on ebay which seem good value if they are genuine Konion cells ?