Possible Arduino Shield for LTC6804, LTC6830 or LTC3300

mwkeefer

1 MW
Hello All;

There have been some questions raised in the Arduino Shield for IT bq76PL536A Thread with regards to using one of these ASICs (Application Specific Integrated Circuits) to design a functional Arduino UNO BMS Shield <Insert Chip Here>.

I thought it would be a good idea to start a new topic instead of cluttering an active project with a possible future one.

That said, I've no personal experience with any of the above and only information I have is from a very adept and respected member of ES whom I will not name who built a fully functional BMS for a undisclosed client and claimed the 6803 was buggy as hell! There are many other complaints about this chip - things about blowing if cells are connected out of sequence (idiot proof it's not) and forget the cost at 17.00 to 20.00 per unit.

Finally - if they have improved in the 6804, 6830 or the newest (I think) LTC3300 and are more robust with less chance of failure... they do handle 12S each so they only single price just 3-6.00 more than equivalent TI chips and may well be worth exploring a design around - this would be of the type which could handle an entire pack with either a single or dual LTC chips controlled by a single Arduino / Atmega328 or better MCU.

I invite those with experience with any of these chips and their designs to freely post comments, tips, recommendations, code (in any language), wish lists, etc.

I'm reasonably certain between David Wahl and / or I, we could produce a nice variation in shield and standalone - remote MCU form (to isolate MCU from heat of pack).

Regards,
Mike Keefer

mwkeefer said:
...I thought it would be a good idea to start a new topic instead of cluttering an active project ...
agree and subscribed, r