Project bike from e-scooter and vanmoof parts

Itzigerstee

1 µW
Hi, I’m new to the forum and total noob when it comes to building electric bikes, so I hope you’ll bear with me. I’ve been reading a lot online and trying to learn, and as a first project I wanted to go with using parts I already had.

I’m trying to use the battery, controller, display and other parts from an old electric scooter, with the motor of an old Vanmoof bike and I have an interesting problem. It kinda works, but to activate the throttle, I have to first spin the wheel backwards for a moment.

The electric scooter I’m using as a donor was a Revoe Revolt R.
  • 36V rear motor on an 8-inch wheel
  • Brainpower motor controller (36V, 250W)
  • Battery: 36V, 7,5Ah/270Wh
  • Display unit: S886
The bike I’m mounting this on is an old Vanmoof electrified S from 2017. I’m only using its frame and motor, for now.
  • 36V, 250W front hub motor

As a first test, I connected everything (the connector of the Vanmoof motor is the same as the connector on the scooter’s motor), but the motor activated only when I first gave the front wheel a little push backwards. Once the throttle was activated, the wheel spun forwards.

Normally, with the e-scooter, you would push it forwards to activate the electric throttle. I’m guessing it could be some pinout issue.

Possible ideas/solutions:
- The connector for the motor is symmetric and I wonder if flipping it could work (or would it damage the motor). It's a round 9-pin connector, with 8 pins in a circle and one in the middle. It has a black arrow on the side, showing the correct way to connect it (matching the arrow on the male cable connector).
- Through the P-settings of the e-scooter, I could try to disable the "push to activate" function.