source for A123 LifePo4.

armstrongracer

100 µW
Hi all, I'm a newbie here, so first post.
I have 2 projects on the go. The first is a self designed and built electric-assist cargo bike. Early days on that and will be putting a call in when I'm looking at motors power packs and controllers.

The second is to convert my motorcycle into a stripped down retro styled cafe racer. To complete the look I want, the existing lead-acid battery has to be junked. Too big, too heavy and difficult to package. I plan to build my own out of A123 LifePo4's. The power pack needs to be 12v/14ah but the important bit is 230cca. It's a high comp tuned motor, they (Triumphs) need to spin up hard before firing because of a tendency to backfire and blow the sprang clutch if starting is tardy. I think that 8 off in 26650 size will do the job. The question is where to source them from? When I use Google I get dodgy looking aliexpress sites in China which I don't trust. I'm informed that certain countries have restrictions regarding the shipping of batteries, I'm located in europe so I don't know if this applies. Also, I want to be able to keep the pack charged from the onboard alternator. To do that I would need a suitable circuit board to balance and control over/under charging. Can anyone recommend a system that will work with 2 parallel banks of 4xcells in series?

Thanks in advance.

If you're in the US:

http://www.stortronics.com/inventory.html

Thanks for your replies. Any recommendations on a circuit to control charging from the alternator. Balancing I plan to do offline with a separate balance charger unless the control board can do both.

Hmm ?....do you actually know you will pull 200+ amps ?
Whilst those cells can certainly deliver 120 amps burst (240A in a pair), they won't do it without dropping significant voltage. It looks like your 8 cell pack could be down to 8-9 volts at that output, which would slow the cranking speed noticeably .