Suzuki GSX600F - Electric Conversion Build

Swayze

100 µW
As the title would suggest, this thread is going to be about the build process of a 1995 GSX600F, hopefully it will be interesting to read, help some people in the future and help me in the present!

A quick bit of history about myself before we dive in. I'm 27, live in Edinburgh Scotland, and currently work for one of the larger Solar EPC companies in the country, i went to university in Edinburgh where I studied Engineering at HND Level then went on to do an MSC in Energy and Environmental Engineering. I don't currently ride a motorcycle however do a lot of mountain biking, mainly Downhill racing and Enduro/all mountain riding. I see myself as a hypocrite of the renewable world as I drive a diesel car, live in a house powered by Gas, and don't have solar panels as I don't own the house.

So what do I hope to achieve from this build:

1. A fun vehicle to drive.
2. A cheap method of commuting to work (17 miles each way).
3. A slight feeling of smugness when discussing renewable energy.
4. A good project for my mate Angus who is recovering from a serious push bike incident.
5. A flick of the V's to everyone who has been negative about the project.

So without further a do, here is the beast (?)

Actually I dont have a picture of the original state it was in yet, so here is what it maybe looked like once upon a time...

Maybe at one time.jpg

We were able to pick this up from Gumtree for £150, the bike actually ran when we collected it, however had mismatching exhaust parts, worn chain, sprockets etc, and was not MOT'd or Taxed (which suited us just fine). The question was raised when we arrived as to how we were going to get the thing home. Being an optimist I told the seller that I would just pop it in the car, a look of bemusement followed, but I had an ace up my sleeve ,the toolbox in the boot.

Car in Boot.jpg