Trek Fuel - Small block left drive first build

the_nitro_addic

100 µW
Hello,

Starting to build my first ebike, with my trek fuel Mtn bike with a LTR small block setup to drive on the left side. Planning to use a FOC controller (40 -80 amp range) that I can program and drive it with rc lipo 18s pack. Looking for some recommends for good performing throttles and possible bluetooth interfaces for displays and programing if available within budgets. Hoping to set it up with a current throttle. Its my first build but I have a few years of ebike experience and have help from my gramps who has built a few so far and helped me narrow down some of the options and has a shop and can show me how to build some of the custom components needed. Any help welcome.

Thanks, Gabe

That's a disc brake only bike, right? How you gonna reconcile that with left side drive?

Chalo said:
That's a disc brake only bike, right? How you gonna reconcile that with left side drive?
Yes, disc brakes front and rear. I am going to have to find a rear brake with a smaller caliper in order for the sprocket to fit. I have not sorted that part out yet.

Go for some heavy duty regen braking if its a rear hub or braze on some v-brake mounts.

Heres a contraption, what the bicycle gas people do I guess
https://www.bicycledesigner.com/motorized-rear-wheel-disc-brake-kit.html

Though I was searching more for something like this
https://youtu.be/TOIefF80Lzs?t=379

This came up on search term via images.
I wonder how much space there is between the chain and the disc rotor. Chain oil flung onto the rotor will mess up brake pads quickly so not a good combo.
https://www.bikeforums.net/singlespeed-fixed-gear/494857-left-hand-drive-disc-brake-print.html

444444444.jpg

markz said:
Chain oil flung onto the rotor will mess up brake pads quickly so not a good combo.

Hey, you can always run the chain bone dry, right?