will this bike make a decent conversion?

transposon

100 W
I am a ebike noob. I have a schwinn prelude 700c road bike. It has an aluminum frame with steel forks. I was thinking of a front dd hub motor for simplicity.

here is a link for reference.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004QM22HC/ref=redir_mdp_mobile

Front low powered geared hub, OK. Anything beyond that, go rear motor.
Bikes like that don't often have good rear dropouts. Looking at that one i see crappy rear dropouts..

How fast do you want to go? for regular pedal bike speeds ( 20mph or under ), this will work.. anything above that, you'll want to reconsider.

I was thinking of a top speed of about 25mph. What if I were to reinforce the front fork?

I also have a steel mtb that has non-steel fork crowns. would that work better?

transposon said:
I am a ebike noob. I have a schwinn prelude 700c road bike. It has an aluminum frame with steel forks. I was thinking of a front dd hub motor for simplicity.

here is a link for reference.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004QM22HC/ref=redir_mdp_mobile

You need to check the dimensions of your front forks to see if they'll clear a motor. The forks need to run parallel or at least not have too much of an inward slope to them.

My first e-bike was a drop bar touring bike I converted to flat bars (makes mounting a throttle easier too). It had slender chromoly steel forks and for a brief time I ran a big 9C motor on that bike;

9cfront 066.jpg

Most of the time however I used a Bafang. On the bike shown above I employed shorty torque arms bolted to the rack eyelets like so;

GM Motor 025.jpg

Your forks have fender eyelets so you could use this torque arm from ebikes.ca;

http://www.ebikes.ca/store/photos/TorqArmRev2.jpg