Winter project: BBS-02 full-suspension folding bike

mdshw5

1 µW
Finished build

I'm pretty happy with the way the bike came out, and I've been using it to commute for a whole week without any issues. Huge hills that used to be painful for me on the way home feel just like flat ground. The bike tops out at about 30 mph, which is much faster than I ever want to go. My commute involves multiple segments: biking to the train, riding the train, biking to work, and then back again. I've been riding a Dahon folder for about two years now, so I wanted to keep the ability to bring it with me wherever I go. The finished bike folds to approximately the same size that it did before electrification, so I'm very happy about this. The only real difference in the folding now is that the seatpost is blocked by the motor, but this really isn't an issue in practice.

Unfolded
bbs02_build_23.jpg

Folded
bbs02_build_17.jpg

Folding the bike: https://www.youtube.com/embed/ELz_c7tLD2g

Donor bike

The donor bike was a 2008 Dahon Jestream that I've been commuting on for ~2 years now. I previously added an Axiom Journey cargo rack and built a new rear wheel incorporating a Shimano Nexus-7 internally geared hub. Even without a motor this was a fun bike to ride... the suspension works great to smooth out potholes and the occasional curb jump.

Dahon jetstream 2008

Build details

My biggest concern with this build was the configuration of the bottom bracket on this bike. As you can see, the seat tube actually exits ahead of the bracket, leading to some slight interference with the motor. I decided not to modify the frame in any way, since in reality - with such a big chainring - the motor clearance is fine.

bbs02_build_9.jpg

The chain line is pretty great, and it certainly helps to have the geared hub to play aroung with rear cog tooth number.

bbs02_build_4.jpg