Another Total Newbie!

bdc43

10 mW
Hi Guys (and Gals)!

I'm another total newbie who has decided to enter the wonderful (and fascinating) world of electric bikes. I've been doing some online research since last summer and I think and I'm ready to take the e-bike plunge. I already have a donor bike lined up, but the problem is I'm not sure if it can be converted. You see, it's a 1985 CCM Brutus 6-speed mountain bike and the frame is made out of high tension steel, meaning it's a bit on the heavy side (although quite sturdy). I haven't done the "magnet test" on the forks so I'm not sure if they are steel also or aluminum. I took some measurements but I'm not sure how accurate they are; in any case, here is the data:

Distance between rear forks (closest to the dropouts): 5 1/4"

Distance between front dropouts: 3 3/4"

Rims: 23"

According the http://www.ampedbikes.com, you need at least 5 3/8" between the dropouts for a rear hub kit, so it doesn't look like I'm missing much. I suppose I could try spreading the forks, unless there are other kits that could fit. I would prefer a rear kit for better hill climbing ability. To give you all a better idea of what I heave to work with, here are some pics of my bike ( let me know if they are not visible):

bicycle007.jpg

bicycle001.jpg

bicycle003.jpg

bicycle002.jpg

bicycle004.jpg

bicycle006.jpg

bicycle008.jpg

bicycle005.jpg

Whoops!

I must have goofed somewhere...I see the pics aren't showing up, just the URLs. Could someone help me out on how to post pics to this forum?

Thanks!

Brian

Looks like you have to be careful w/the options on photobucket... this works:
(added spaces in "img" to disable the pic just to show the format)
[im g]http://i838.photobucket.com/albums/zz308/bchamb1967/bicycle007.jpg[/im g]

like this:
bicycle007.jpg

Everyone,

Thanks for all your help! As you can see, the images re showing up fine now.

Brian