RC mid-drive build from scratch. 80100, HV160, aim = 40mph+

Sellick

10 W
Hi everyone, I am a new member to the site and have an exciting and ambitious first project. I put a quick post up in the 'general chat' area explaining it a few months ago, and I have spent that time glued to endless sphere, learning as much as I can! I am studying Mechanical Engineering in the UK, and my dissertation project is to build an ebike. The project isn't very restrictive at all, with my only aim being for it to reach a maximum (not sustained) speed of 40 mph. I am also very lucky because I have full access to the university's workshop, which includes CNC milling machines, lathes, MIG and TIG welders, plasma cutters, and more! Before I started the project I was a keen downhill mountain biker, but had absolutely no knowledge of electrical systems, or ebikes, so I really welcome any suggestions or corrections if I go off-track. So, I thought I would start by listing out the shopping list of parts I am hoping to use:

- 80100 7kw motor (180kv)
- 4 x 6s Zippy Flightmax 5000mah 40C LiPo batteries (to be run in 12s2p, not sure if this will be enough yet?)
- Hobbyking power supply
- Turnigy Accucel 6 charger
- Cell log
- 4 x low voltage alarms
- Castle Creations HV 160
- Magura throttle
- Cycle Analyst
- Neugart PLE gearbox
- 3-speed internally geared rear hub
- Custom jackshaft
- Custom frame
- Swingarm from DH bike (or possibly custom)
- High-end DH bicycle components