TOO MUCH TORQUE

Kronik

10 µW
Hey guys! I had a 1500w 52v kit that I had been using for a couple years and decided I needed more power. I thought to myself "Twice as much power would be perfect!" so I bought a 3000w 72v kit from NBpower. I'm not sure what they put in this thing but it's extremely dangerous! The first time I tapped the throttle it cracked the pavement on my road and I felt the planet stop rotating as the front end came off the ground! Even if I put it in level 1 assist, It is still this torquey. I can get the front end to stay down if I reduce the amps to the motor to only 20amps but then I don't have the power when I want it. Anyone got any tips for taming the throttle response?

Is the controller programmable?
If so, lowering the ratio of phase amps to battery amps on the controller would reduce the 0rpm kick to a tolerable level.

Is it an FOC controller? If so, it will have a setup program or app that probably has a throttle response curve, or some form of settings to change how the torque control of the motor responds to the throttle input.

It may have something similar even with a non-FOC controller, but that's less likely by far.

If there is no option in the controller itself to do this, you can change to an FOC controller that does have this option. (but you will have to tune it to your specific motor and system to make it work).

Or you can change the throttle itself to one with a different output curve. A potentiometer type with a logarithmic pot (instead of linear) would be the simplest/best option for a response like you probably want. A cable-operated type instead of one with the electronics on the handlebars would be easiest to experiment with, as you can probably swap the pot out in it relatively easily for a log pot if it comes with a linear one, much easier than in a bar-mounted type. (To use a COT you change the throttle mechanism on your handlebars for one that pulls a cable, like a typical motorcycle/atv/etc type).