Attempting Honda Grom Electric Conversion

I'm trying to learn how to convert a 2015 Honda Grom to electric. I am a complete electronics noob. Trying not to kill myself with high voltage/amps.

I am looking to buy this kit: https://www.electroandcompany.com/product-page/qs138-70h-v3-3000w-em-150-kit

Specifically getting the following:
- DKD display
- EM-260sp (25kw) controller (350 amps burst)
- QS138 70H V3 motor
- 76v 48ah battery
- E&C Pro Throttle
- Aluminum switch gear & power switch

I was also going to pick up their EMX 12A charger for the battery, but open to ideas for charging. I basically want to start this project by buying all the necessary electronic parts and doing a bench test before doing anything to the bike itself. I have an idea of what kind of parts I need to buy, but I’m scared I’ll purchase something that isn’t rated appropriately. Would love to utilize the expertise from the good folks in these forums for the various necessities such as the shunt (do i need this with DKD display?), dc to dc converter, pre-charge resistor, etc.

Not sure if it matters, but here is a wiring diagram of the grom: https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0...014-2015_grom_wiring_diagram.pdf?v=1665073457

How can I safely start this project?

Last edited:
Oh, I have a 2014 Grom, and if you have found a hub wheel motor that fits in the dropouts of the Grom, and matches to the brake rotor of the wheel. Well, I want to know what you found.

Oh, I have a 2014 Grom, and if you have found a hub wheel motor that fits in the dropouts of the Grom, and matches to the brake rotor of the wheel. Well, I want to know what you found.
Going with the mid drive motor QS138 70H V3, but might take a peek at some hub options since I haven't committed to anything yet.

theres a few grom threads with builds and clones that may be helpful. some are in this list