Best value batteries?

electr0n

1 kW
I've been using hobbyking lipo batteries for the past 8+ years. I've been satisfied with their performance for the most part. My last purchase was 4x Multistar 6s 10 amp hours. That's 888 watt hours for around $320 CAD shipped, including some extra connectors and wires. That's around 32 cents CAD per watt hour. I see hobbyking no longer has the Multistar packs but instead have Turnigy but they are a lot more expensive now. To duplicate my last purchase 4x Turnigy 6s 10 amp hours is now going to cost $536 CAD. That's 60 cents CAD per watt hour. Not as attractive.Do these still go on sale?

Are their any 18650 packs that are comparable in price / performance? Every time I've looked the 18650 packs are considerably more expensive and their continuous amp rates are typically 40 amps or less. I've pulled 50 to 80+ amps from my cheap lipo batteries many times. I suppose the bms on the more expensive 18650 packs would cut out if I tried to pull big amps from it.

What is the best price I can get for 18650 cells if I were to make a pack myself. Which vendors? Are their any solderless DIY systems to make 18650 pack building easier? Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks.

You might be happier with salvaged automotive cells than 18650s, if you can fit them on your bike. They’re easier to build into packs, and they support large discharge currents. Generally they have much lower cost per energy than RC lipo, longer cycle life, and better quality control, but are bigger and heavier for any given capacity.

In searching the forum to see if the Satiator measures IR, I came across this little post here from justin_le

https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=60169&p=1116555&hilit=satiator+internal+resistance#p1130932