Brake pads for Arrow 9 hydraulic

Zambam

1 kW
Does anyone recognize these hydraulic calipers on my Arrow 9? What kind of replacement pads do I need? The rear was squeaking so I took both calipers off, cleaned them with brake clean including wiping down the disk and they are quiet now. There's still lining material left on the pads but I don't know how much without having new pads to compare. Can you tell looking at these pics of the front?

IMG_2612.jpegIMG_2611.jpeg

I suppose I should take the old pads out to have a look see if there are part numbers on them? Is there a tutorial on removing the pads and spring? I've never worked on them before. Are ceramic pads longer lasting and do they stop better?

I suppose I should take the old pads out to have a look see if there are part numbers on them? Is there a tutorial on removing the pads and spring? I've never worked on them before. Are ceramic pads longer lasting and do they stop better?

Tektro brakes are very common. You have to take the pads out to replace them, so pull them out. Don't work the brake levers while the brake rotors or pads are removed. If the pads look like the ones E-HP linked, then that's what they are. You don't have to use Tektro brand, just pads with a compatible shape. There are a bunch of Tektro models and no-name clones that use the same shape pads.

"Ceramic" is a marketing term without a fixed meaning, so you can disregard it. The three basic categories of pads available are organic/fiber, semi-metallic, and fully metallic/sintered. Organic or fiber pads are quietest and have a more gradual braking feel, but they wear out fastest. Metallic or sintered pads have the longest life and strongest braking, but they make more noise and wear your rotors faster. Semi-metallic pads are intermediate in all respects.

I use fully metallic pads when I have the choice. EBC Gold HH+ pads are my favorite, but any metallic pads do what I want them to do.