Designing an axial flux motor

panandtilts

1 µW
So to start off, I'm a mechanical engineer and anything electrical is not my forte. I've been researching through this forum and rcgroups in the motor subforum there the past few weeks trying to soak up as much knowledge as possible, but a lot of it is still very fuzzy.

I'll try to keep this short.

What I'm trying to do: Design a BLDC motor for a ceiling fan I'm designing. Doesn't seem very exciting, but I believe it's a great stepping stone in designing motors, controllers, and rotor blades. I'll be designing everything from the ground up, this includes the rotor geometry (a bunch of excel and some CFD) to optimize the geometry, then designing a motor to run this said fan.

Current State: Almost done designing the rotor, but have not finalized anything, therefore do not have any torque requirements yet (kind of important for designing a motor huh?)

Past experience: The most relevant experience would be designing the motor housing/rim for the CSIRO (now Marund) motor for a solar car.

Motor specifications: As stated before, the torque requirements have not been settled yet so it's hard to say, but it will only be spinning at 30-150rpm. So basically a very low Kv + high torque motor. Would also like to design it as efficient as possible

Moving to the questions. So I haven't fully decided between a radial flux or axial flux design, but am leaning more towards a coreless axial flux design due to the fact I don't want to cut custom laminations for the stator.

Copper fill: higher the better as it'll be a stronger electromagnet and will be more efficient
Winds: Using the BLDC equation, more winds obviously equals higher torque but with the trade off of higher resistance