Drive ratio BMC 1500

topever

10 µW
Hi guys,
quick question, maybe someone can answer. I've got a BMC 1500 watt motor turning a 10 tooth sprocket to a 48 tooth sprocket driving an axle with 10 inch tall tires.
The motor/ controller shuts down after 1 second of throttle. This is up on blocks, no load. 48 volt 12ah sla batts. Edward Lyen is helping me try to figure out why its cutting out. Am too high on my ratio? Should I run a jackshaft with another set of 10 to 48 tooth sprockets? That would put me at about a 9 to 1 ratio, right? I have no idea if that is where its supposed to be. This is my first build. It's a pusher trailer. Edward just sent me a large paragraph about something I don't have a clue about. I can tear the engine out of your car and rebuild it with more horsepower, and weld together a roll cage for you, but I don't have a clue about electronics.
Flame if you want but I'm not going to go to school and learn all this. Thats what freinds are for. I can upgrade to an 18 fet controller, and from what Ed is saying, it might be a good idea. I'm running his 12 fet now. If you guys think a jackshaft is the answer, I can whip that out no problem. I just want to go flying down the street and watch people freak when they see I'm not pedaling. (motor and batts are hidden). Thanks for listening. I'm a noob so be gentle.

Have you tried running the motor without the chain? See if it runs longer, if so then it's the drag or the gear ratio is too high. If it doesn't run any longer it's the motor/controller problem. I wouldn't think it should shut down without a load on the wheels.

Does it restart right up again after stopping? Motor or controller getting hot?

Try that and see if it helps.

Dan