Ebike Noob here, I want to upgrade my 28" Crossbike into an ebike,

Akologi

1 mW
Hey (not sure if this is the right forum to post this here but ill just start), so I want to upgrade my 28" crossbike (it uses hydraulic brakes)

Law and regulations here in Austria only allow me to use a 250 Watt Motor and a maximum speed of 25 km/h (anything else would be actually refered to as a scooter/pedelec here, requireing license plate, insurance, an actual Scooter helmet, not bicycle helmet etcetc..)

Now Since I am a total noob regarding ebikes(I did some minor DIY stuff on normal bicycles, but nothing regarding ebikes) and so far i have done some surface level research I do have lots of questions though...

I want it to be as cheap as possible but still reliant(obviously)
Pedal Assist is not even a must, I'd be already happy if i just manage to montage the motor, the battery and a little switch that accelerates the bicycle when pushed down(i'd mostly use it to accelerate or when going uphill, allthough the area i'll be cycling at is mostly flat)

Q1: as a roughly 100kg person are 250 Watts enough? I got the advice on reddit to buy a 48Volt Battery with a 20 AMP controller to over Volt the 250 Watt Motor.

Q2: I have looked up some cheap upgrade kits on Amazon for 200€(without battery), the issue i find in those kits is, they all have like these modified brake handles, which might become problematic because my Break handles can be also pushed up and down to switch gears. So obviously my worry is that the brake handles from that upgrade kit will most likely not be compatible with my bicycle.(hence why I just want a simple switch similar to e-scooters, I wonder if there'd be something available for purchase like that) No need for assisted pedaling etc. If anyone has an idea or suggestion feel free to post, otherwise i might have to switch out the entire Gear and brake thing for something more commonly used.