EIG Pouch Cell Questions

Storapa

100 W
Hi folks,

I’ve been lurking about on the forum for a while. It is excellent. Thanks to all who take the time to contribute.

A bit of history. I built up a bike using a BBS02 kit and a Hobby King lipo pack with low voltage alarms. It’s a great kit and I’ve been enjoying riding it. Unfortunately I was surfing E-Bay as you do, and ended up buying an HS3540 rear hub motor. I then bought a 12 FET 4110 Infineon controller from Paul at EM3EV (excellent service) and an 84V bulk charger from BMS Battery.

I’m also a mechanical engineer by trade, so a lot of this is new to me.

A friend gave me a quantity of EIG 20 Ahr pouch cells (ePLB CO20B) in carriers. I also managed to get the data sheet for the cells. They have been used for gentle bench testing but little else. They are all within 10mv of each other at 3.75V. I’ve charged them to 4.1V in groups of 5 (using my BC168 charger). I’ll discharge them to 3.8V this week, rather than leaving them fully charged.

My intention is to build an 82V pack using 20 cells split into two packs. I will then fit them with balance leads but bulk charge the majority of the time. I was considering buying an iCharge 1010B charger to balance charge them in future. I won’t be running a BMS, but rely on the controller to cut the power at a certain voltage.

A few questions.

Does my plan sound sensible.

Should I charge and discharge the cells a few times?

How do you guys produce the graphs with respect to your charge and discharge cycles?

Anything else I need to think about with this set-up?

Hi all,

Thanks for the replies.

Dnmun, I don't have a BMS as yet. If I can get one easily enough I'll give it a try.

Hillhater, yup, he's a good friend. The pack for my BBS02 weighs in at 6kg (12 cells). The pack for the HS3540 weighs 10kg (20 cells). As you say, heavy, but the cells were free and the capacity is reasonable.

Storapa said: